8th Annual MBHOF Induction Friday

The 8th Annual Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame Induction is this Friday!

Join us and meet 2014 Inductees:

Mike Addams
Richie Balsbaugh
Leo Beranek
Dr. Murray Feingold
John Garabedian
Dave O’Gara
Hank Phillippi Ryan
Bruce Schwoegler

and Celebrity Presenters:

Harry ‘Bud’ Nelson
Matt Siegel
Natalie Jacobson
Dan Rea
Gary Lapierre
David O’Leary
Anne Sweeney
Laura Carlo
Mark Veau
Robin Young
Bob Lobel

Plus, we’ll honor deceased Inductees:

Julia Child
Lovell Dyett
David Ives
Dave MacNeill

It’s this Friday, September 12th, 12 noon at the Boston Quincy Marriott.

The Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame Induction is Friday, September 12th at the Boston Quincy Marriott. Tickets are on sale now for $50

Eight living and four deceased individuals whose achievements over more than a half-century have greatly enhanced the quality of television and radio in the Bay State will be inducted into the Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame at its annual Induction and Awards Luncheon at the Boston Marriott Quincy Hotel on Friday, Sept. 12.  The public is invited to attend the event, and tickets are available for purchase now by clicking here.
The eight living inductees who will be present and honored at the luncheon are: Leo Beranek, the founding President of WCVB-TV, Channel 5, who will be 100 years old three days after the luncheon; WHDH-TV, Channel 7 investigative reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan; WBZ-TV, Channel 4’s now-retired meteorologist Bruce Schwoegler; recently retired 40-year Boston on-air personality Mike Addams, veteran of WRKO, WHDH, WZOU, Oldies 103 and recently 17-year host of "Morning Magic" on Magic 106.7;  Richie Balsbaugh, who transformed a floundering Medford radio station into the powerhouse Kiss 108 and launched Jam'n 94-5; WBZ-AM medical editor, host of "Medical Minute" and founder of the Genesis Fund, Dr. Murray Feingold; Former WMEX Program Director, founder and owner of WGTR/Natick, founder of owner of V66 television,  host/creator of the nationally syndicated radio program, Open House Party and current owner and operator CodCom, a 4-station group on Cape Cod, John Garabedian; and 46-year veteran on-air radio personality of Worcester's WORC, Dave O’Gara.
The four deceased individuals who be honored at the luncheon in the presence of their respective families are: television’s celebrated “French Chef” Julia Child, who originated her programs at WGBH-TV;  Boston’s Channel 2; David Ives, who as head of WGBH-TV helped build it into a national powerhouse for the Public Broadcasting Service;  long-time WBZ-AM talk host and television-radio documentarian Lovell Dyett; and Dave MacNeill, the voice of the Boston Pops for 50 years on WCRB-FM, Boston.

As in past years, the Induction and Awards Luncheon will be emceed by WBZ-AM popular talk program host Jordan Rich.

Tickets are on sale now.
Click to Purchase.



The MBHOF celebrates the past, present, and future of broadcasting in the Bay State.

The sights and sounds of the electronic media are constantly changing. Only with the perspective of time can the gradual progress from Marconi’s 1903 transatlantic transmissions from Cape Cod, to broadcasting in Massachusetts today, be perceived.

The Hall recognizes innovators and milestones in the state’s media, while preserving important radio and television broadcasts from the past so today’s media people can learn from them.

Don Kelley,

To learn more, click here.

Next induction:
Friday, Sept. 12, 2014